Skip to main content
School is Closed - Summer Break

Book Awards & Lists

Stuck in a rut? Looking for some suggestions of books to read? Try one listed below.

Young Hoosier Book Award Program

The Association for Indiana School Library Educators (AISLE) sponsors the Young Hoosier Book Award every year. There are three 20-title lists: Picture Book (Grades K-3), Intermediate (Grades 4-6), and Middle (Grades 6-8). (A similar program is available for grades 9-12 called the Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award.) Any student who reads a minimum of 5 of the 20 books on one of the lists is eligible to vote in April for his/her favorite book. Votes are received from schools throughout Indiana. The votes are tallied and winners declared. The winning authors are invited to speak at the AIME professional conference the following fall.

Visit here for the Picture Book, Intermediate, and Middle Grades Young Hoosier lists:

Read-Aloud Books Too Good to Miss

The Read-Aloud Books Too Good To Miss program is sponsored by the Association for Indiana School Library Educators. Media specialists, classroom teachers, reading teachers, principals, bookstore operators, and university faculty develop five read-aloud lists, one each for primary, upper elementary, middle school, high school, and ageless. The purpose of the program is to encourage sustained reading and oral sharing of literature among teachers and students.

Visit here for the current Indiana Read-Aloud list:

Notable Children’s Books

Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, identifies the best of the best in children’s books.

Click here for the current ALA Notable Children's Book List

Major Award Winners

The American Library Association presents many literary awards each year. Among those are:

Newbery Medal, which honors the author of a book deemed “the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children” that year. 
Click here to view the Newbery Medal and Newbery Honor winners from 1922 to the present.

Caldecott Medal, which honors the artist of a book deemed “the most distinguished American picture book for children” that year.  
Click to view the Caldecott Medal and Honor book winners from 1938 to the present.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal, given every other year, which honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. 

Mildred L. Batchelder Award, which is awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and then translated into English and published in the United States.

Pura Belpre Award, which honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Robert F. Sibert Information Book Medal, which honors the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.

Coretta Scott King Award, which is awarded to authors and illustrators of African descent whose books promote an understanding and appreciation of the “American Dream.”

Awards given by other governing bodies

Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, which is given annually for a book published the previous year for children or young adults whose content is historical fiction.